Animal enzymes and chipsCategory: QuestionsAnimal enzymes and chips
Mariam asked 8 months ago

Asalam alakum,  almost all chips and other products with cheese or milk have animal enzymes in them and we’d like to know whether it is haram or halal to eat? I know for sure most products are not from pig enzymes so that’s a relief and that enzymes do disintegrate within the process but we’d like to make sure it isn’t haram to consume? For example, hot Cheetos, Doritos, cheese(with animal enzymes), and more products.

1 Answers
Fiqh Department Staff answered 8 months ago

بِسْمِ ٱللَّٰهِ ٱلرَّحْمَٰنِ ٱلرَّحِيمِ
السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته
As Salaamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh,
We hope this answer finds you in high Islamic spirit.
Most of the cheese products (with the enzymes) are allowed to be consumed but the cheese with the renate is not allowed for precaution.